The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

Day 1, 0414 Hours: Madness

They say you can survive three days without water. Whoever “they” are … they probably never tried. I’m on day number two without water. My tongue is swollen. It feels like I have a dry sponge in my mouth. My head is pounding like the bass drum in a marching band. Every muscle in my body threatens to betray me with each passing step. I can barely stand. My forward progress, with the weight of my pack and weapons, could be measured in inches. Yet, I have miles to go.

I don’t dare think of the total number. It’s too large. Instead, I must focus on each step. “Just one more; just one more,” I keep repeating to myself.

Surely, if someone observed me over the last twenty hours or so, they would think I was crazy.

There are plenty of those these days – crazy people, I mean. No shortage whatsoever. Millions have been driven to madness. Millions more have died in the last few months – died of starvation; died of exposure; died of dehydration, as I may shortly; died … of madness. A fog has settled over our country and driven the population to the brink … the brink of insanity, the brink of extinction.

I’m close myself – close to madness. That’s why I’m writing this. I’m hoping that writing down my thoughts will keep me sane. I knew someone, what seems like a long time ago, who did the same thing. He kept a journal of his thoughts and actions. He tried to fight the insanity that reached out for each of us. Some, it beckoned with a siren’s song. Some, it grasped with dirty-nailed fingers and hands covered in blood, dirt and grease. Others, the madness led like a pied piper over a cliff into a sea of irrational thoughts and actions.

I need to get moving again. My body and my brain have locked arms in protest. They’re singing kumbaya and refusing to get up. Where are the stinking riot police when you need them? I need some jack-booted thugs with water canons and batons to break up the protest and get my lazy mind and body moving again.

The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.

Put down the pencil and pick up the pack. Do it, you weakling. Move!

======

If you liked this excerpt from the sequel to The Union Creek Journal, and you haven’t read The Journal yet, you can purchase it for your Kindle reader or in PDF format.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Day 1, 0414 Hours: Madness

Comment navigation

  1. Doug in Arkansas on said:

    When and where will the sequel be available? What is it called? I really enjoyed the UCJ and am anxiously looking forward to this new work.

    • I’m working to complete the sequel in the next few weeks. The title has not yet been released. The sequel will be available here, for free, on The Union Creek Journal blog. Unlike The Union Creek Journal, the sequel will also be available, in its entirety, for Kindle, Nook and in PDF format for those who just can’t wait for the daily entries to be released.

  2. Tick tock, tick tock……

  3. I soo can not wait for this sequel, this was an awesome book. Probably the only book that has ever held my attention and left me looking forward to next entry.

  4. Muleshemi on said:

    Just finished the UCJ again. Looking forward to the sequel. Just wondering if the sequel would start where the original left off? If not, I would love some “bonus” entries from the view of Tanner, Wei, Ariel, or Pitcher. I would really like to know what happened during the last battle.

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

