The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

Union Creek Survival Guide?

I enjoy the distinct priveledge of taking my son to school every morning.  It’s not a long drive but it gives us a little “guy time” almost every day. 

The other day, as we drove down the street playing “schoolbus” (more on that in a bit), he said, “Dad, you should create a Union Creek Survival Guide.”  That got me to thinking.  Would something like that be marketable?  There’s no shortage of survival guides on the market.  I’d have to find a way to make it different.  One way, of course, would be to pull the tidbits out of The Journal and expand upon them.  There might be a few other ways ….  That’s when it hit me … why not just ask?

So, I’m here to ask my readers … would you buy a Union Creek Survival Guide?  It would include pretty much all of the (legal) tips from The Union Creek Journal and probably a few more.  I know I’ve had several people ask me to include more of the day-to-day, how-do-you-do-this kind of stuff in The Journal itself.  Well, the guide would give you pretty much nothing but that.

Let me know what you think, please.

Toby

P.S. The school bus game is a fun game to play with your kids that teaches them a few things too.  It’s a take-off from the old Slug Bug game.  Simply put, when a person in the vehicle spots a school bus, they call out “school bus” and then the o’clock position of the bus.  For example, if you pulled up behind a school bus, you might call out, “School bus, twelve o’clock.”  There are any number of skills that this helps reinforce.  The word “school bus” can even be used as a “safe” word when you need to communicate the presence of potential danger.

Good luck spotting school busses before your kids do!

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “Union Creek Survival Guide?

Comment navigation

  1. Green Eyed Jinn on said:

    AFR 35-10….military style haircuts, aka “high and tight.” Old Air Force uniform standards.

    Of course, that’s for the Air Force, so “military style” itself has to be taken with a grain of salt.

    Damn, the fact that I know that means I’ve spent wayyyy too much time “Joint.” Gotta back to sea.

    • Ah, we just called them “high and tight” in the Army.

    • Good2Go on said:

      Dang, I guess I dated myself there. Old! Thanks for reminding me, GEJ. Crushed any self-esteem I had left. 🙂

      I’m afraid if I tried scissors and a razor, Mudinyeri, I’d end up looking like Moe from the Three Stooges! I guess I was hoping someone had a fool-proof*, non-electric system for getting that “high and tight” look.

      *Nothing is fool-proof to a sufficiently talented fool.

  2. Good2Go on said:

    All the so-called guides I’ve seen are nothing more than checklists. Which are good, don’t get me wrong. For example, you mentioned a copy of the Constitution. Have to admit I’ve never seen that on a checklist before. I have a pocket copy in my BOB now. I wouldn’t be interested in another checklist but a practical guide I would buy in a heartbeat. Like Steam said, in the new normal how does one do ordinary mundane tasks like communicating, bathing, cooking, baking, food storage, etc., when there’s no electricity or running water?

    I just started reading the UCJ two weeks ago. I started from the beginning and I read at least one entry a day with my morning coffee. I now have a two-page document full of ideas I hadn’t considered before reading your blog. Thank you and God bless.

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

