The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

Tip Jar

I received a suggestion, recently, that I add a “tip jar” to The Union Creek Journal blog.  Initially, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the concept.  My intent, when I started this blog was primarily to experiment with the publishing medium – not to make money.  I figured that would come later if the experiment was a success.

As many of you have noticed, Kindle editions of each month’s entries are available.  Again, this was not done primarily to make money (I only net $0.35 per chapter after the Amazon distribution costs are deducted from the $0.99 price of each chapter).  Rather, I made the monthly collections available for the convenience, and at the request, of my readers.

As I’ve considered the tip jar concept, it’s won me over.  Eventually, I would like to support my family with my writing.  I see the tip jar as simply another component of the experiment and another step in the direction of making this a full-time paying gig.

So … you’ll now see a Tip Jar link on the right-hand side of the page, immediately under the Blogroll.  Please don’t feel obligated to tip.  If, however, you appreciate my writing enough to leave a tip, I’ve left it up to you to determine the amount.  Simply click the link underneat the Tip Jar title and enter the amount you would like to tip.

Here’s a link to the tip page: Tip Jar

Finally, I would be remiss if I didn’t take this opportunity to once again thank my dedicated readers.  With your help, The Union Creek Journal has surpassed 100,000 views in less than two months.  We’re idling along at a little over 3000 readers per day.  In my mind, that’s pretty amazing!  This experiment has been far more successful than I imagined.

Look for more fiction in the not-too-distant future.  Work on the sequel to The Union Creek Journal is progressing – albeit rather slowly as I try to keep up with your appetite for The Journal itself.

Thanks and enjoy!

Note: Donations made to The Union Creek Journal are not tax-deductible.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Tip Jar

  1. Excellent Idea…. Wonder who thought of that one?! LOL Great Work and HAPPY to contribute!

  2. Ah, great minds…..

Leave a Reply

