The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

The End

You’ve reached the end of The Union Creek Journal.  We all survived!

I’d like to say, “thank you” to everyone who has followed along as The Journal wound its way, like its namesake Union Creek, through the twists and turns of the Johnsons’ lives in their post-apocalyptic world.  I hope you enjoyed The Journal and, perhaps, even learned a thing to two.  If you look for them, you’ll find lots of tips and ideas for survival in any sort of difficult situation.  They’re like Easter eggs, only slightly hidden and just waiting to be found.

I’d also like to thank those who helped keep me on the straight and narrow path of correct grammar, spelling and technical detail.  There are several of you.  Perhaps chief among my “editors”, Karen, you sent me an e-mail nearly every day with some sort of correction.  As always, thanks for your help.

And now to the future … there will be a sequel to The Journal.  It’s already started.  Stay tuned here for updates.  I plan to take a little time off before I write the rest of the sequel.  The daily publishing schedule of The Journal has taken its toll on a few areas of my life that will soon receive some much-deserved attention.  After that, back to the grindstone.  The sequel must be finished!

For those who are interested, the sequel to The Journal will be delivered a little bit differently.  It will still be available for free in daily installments.  (Of course, you’re always welcome to make a donation if you feel so inclined.)  In addition to its free availability in daily installments, the sequel to The Journal will also be available in its entirety for a fee once the first few daily entries are published.

More forward looking statements … The Journal will be published in its entirety for Kindle (available through Amazon), Nook (available through Barnes & Noble) and as a PDF – most likely in that order.  As of yet, Glenn Beck has not responded and no other “top shelf” publisher has expressed an interest in publishing a paperback version of The Journal.  Several of you have expressed an interest in a physical copy of the book.  If I am unable to secure a publisher, I will most likely utilize a publish-on-demand service to deliver the book in paperback.

Thanks again.

Be ever vigilant,

Toby Asplin, Author: The Union Creek Journal

Single Post Navigation

37 thoughts on “The End

Comment navigation

  1. I’m madder than a three legged dog tryin to bury a turd on a frozen lake…. Definitely set up good for a sequel though 😉

  2. RVN11B on said:

    I do not remember if I had stated my desire for hard copies of the journal. So just to cover the bases let it be known I REALLY would like copies.

    There, I feel better now.

  3. raidernf on said:

    sequel? when? what the name? looking foreware to reading it!

  4. GOSH DANG YOU!!!! How can you do this to me? What? No final battle scene? I WAS WAITING FOR THE FINAL BATTLE SCENE!!!!!!!!!! GAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Stjjames on said:

    What ?!
    How can this be the end ?!?!
    😦

  6. Mike on said:

    As I said before I wasn’t surprised by the sudden ending, just how you just drop it like a firecracker. I’ll probably start to follow the sequel, but you have taken your right as author to a point that leaves me wondering why.

  7. Brushogger on said:

    Wow! Toby this was a great read. If you wrap up the ends in the sequel, I will not be disappointed. I think putting the Journal and the sequel together as a unit for the finished product would be a great way to allay the naysayers. I will be buying the sequel. Kudos Man!

  8. Frankly Disappointed on said:

    I have to admit that, hearing that this is the end, I am disappointed. While it is your book to craft as you please, I think that you completely dropped the ball on the ending.

    You built up the battle between the UC folks and Hood’s group against the oncoming forces of oppression and tyranny as an epic battle of freedom vs. the state, as militia vs. “regulars” and yet the battle itself is never described. The battle should have been the climax to the story, and I do not think that the artifice of having David Johnson’s son writing a memorial journal entry does the issue justice. That would still be a useful ending to the story, but the battle *must* be described.

    Frankly, the analogy that comes to mind is going to an all-day festival an being promising fireworks at the end of the day, only to get what? Nothing except a third-person’s brief description of the fireworks.

    Not. Satisfying. Ending. At. All.

  9. Thank you Toby!

  10. I think the UCJ would make an excellent plot-line for a full length novel. You have a great premise, engaging characters and a nice mix of story arcs all coming together.

    IMO the format of the story hurt the overall project and the arcs needed more development. I think it could be reworked into an epic novel, but it didn’t quite make it for me.

    I did enjoy it overall and I’ll give the sequel a try.

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

