The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

May 8, 2015: Just Over the Horizon

Today’s journal entry will be brief.  I’m only pausing long enough from our preparations to write down a few thoughts about the last six months and the upcoming days.  Tomorrow we go to war and there is much to do between now and then.

It has been just over six months since I started this journal and only slightly longer than that since the world crashed headlong into a financial abyss so deep that it may take decades for those who have survived to pull themselves up and out of that chasm.

At the six month mark, there still is really little evidence of recovery.  Tomorrow’s battle is a pointed reminder of how lawless and uncivilized our country remains.

We still have little news of the outside world.

From time to time we catch snippets of information over the short-wave radio, but much of it is merely anecdotal and unsubstantiated (not unlike the mainstream news prior to the crash).  For all we know, the rest of the world may be in worse shape than we are or … running along somewhat normally.

All this to say that we have regressed to a point nearly on par with that of our ancestors who settled this wild land.  All it took was for human kind to allow their baser nature to take over their actions.  If I had to boil it down to a few simple elements, I would say the crash was the result of laziness and greed.  Virtually unchecked, those two unattractive aspects of human nature led most of civilization like lemmings over the edge of the cliff.  They went willingly following the pied pipers who promised them their “fair share” regardless of the cost to those who had worked hard for their own share.

It was a sweet siren song that tickled the ears and caused dreams of a Utopian society to dance in the heads of those willing to participate in the delusion.

Now, we find ourselves yet again combatting laziness and greed.  Those who plan to attack us would rather profit from the work and preparation of others than work for their own survival.

Life is not fair.  It never has been.  It never will be.  To attempt to enforce fairness through laws and regulation is and always has been a pipe dream.

Those who cry, “It’s not fair,” are either children or idiots.

We can encourage compassion and sympathy, but they – like laziness and greed – are a part of the inner man.  No amount of coaxing, cajoling or threatening can make a person care about their fellow-man.  Human nature, in all its beauty and in all its ugliness, emanates from the soul and only God can change the soul.

Thankfully, my soul is at peace with my Maker.  I am prepared to meet Him – whether it might be tomorrow in battle or years from now in my bed.

My wife and my son know that I love them – that I always have and that I always will.

With those two things settled, let whatever is just over the horizon come.

I am prepared.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “May 8, 2015: Just Over the Horizon

Comment navigation

  1. Mike on said:

    That is an attitude that is missing with to many people today, proven by the fact that we are in the shape we are in! I too am as ready as I will ever be, and hope if the crap does hit, let it be in my time so my children and there children can live free with out the threat of war / fighting in this country.

    Great journal entry Mud

  2. I agree. One of your best so far.

    –Wag–

Comment navigation

Leave a comment