The Union Creek Journal

A Chronicle of Survival

April 12-13, 2015: Missing

D.J. has been missing for nearly 36 hours.  Janelle Gunter was the last person to see him.  He turned back from their perimeter walk yesterday to return to the area where they spotted a piece of trash.

I backtracked to the location last night with Janelle to guide me.  It was well after dark when we started out.  Even with a good flashlight, I couldn’t make out enough to give me a clue as to what happened.

This morning, I returned to the spot in the shelter belt to find at least two sets of tracks – one set was D.J.’s.  I recognized his boots’ imprints in a couple spots of damp bare soil but there was another, larger, set of tracks as well.

We raised Pete on the radio and he came to help track.

By dark this evening, we were able to follow the two sets of tracks together to a low spot on the farm to the south where a vehicle had obviously been parked.  The vehicle’s tracks led back out to the road on our western border and turned south.  We followed them on foot for nearly two miles until it was too dark to see them.

Miriam is frantic … so am I.

It’s about 3:00 a.m.  I can’t sleep so I’m going to go check the abandoned house to the south where we found a few of Hernandez’s thugs.  That’s the closest shelter on line with the vehicle’s direction.

Single Post Navigation

28 thoughts on “April 12-13, 2015: Missing

Comment navigation

  1. Five5 on said:

    Missing….another entry please! We’ve been waiting all weekend!!!

  2. Jamieson on said:

    What a cliffhanger!!

Comment navigation

Leave a comment